Fun times

So we had our first group at camp last week and it was awesome! It was so cool to have kids at camp, I have really missed teaching. And even thought I was only shadowing and didn’t really teach I still got to interact with the kids in our group. There was one kid that was scared of the seaweed on his snorkel. So I had to say in four feet of water and swim with him there. But to show that you can still find cool stuff even in four feet of water we found a very small ( inch long ) California sea hare and a cool sea slug. I also had to help some kids out when their life vest were causing a rash on a long kayak trip. So it was a great intro.
After our group left on Friday afternoon the entire camp staff packed up for a camping trip and went to a beach on the back side of the island called Ben Westen. It was a beautiful sandy beach with big waves and great weather. We sat on the beach all Saturday and we went in the water, I took pictures and read. It was a great relaxing weekend. We camped on the beach for two nights and returned to camp Sunday afternoon.
Monday was a cool day, we finalized our training, we still had oceanography, technical kayaking, and tech training (aka everything you do when your not teaching, like class room prep and snorkel prep.) Those classes were fun but I’m kind of done with training lol. But we are we’re not quite done yet.
Tuesday brought the high ropes course training…. Riggghhhhttt. So learning knots and safety stuff like harvests and stuff was really cool. I feel comfortable having other people do the challenges but I didn’t like them to much. The first challenge was the latter. Imagine a wooden square. The square was lifted off the ground, about four feet, but wire cables at each corner of the square. Now imagine three more wooden squares spread above the first with an increasing width between the squares. Four people are on the squares, which are about five feet squares, and the four team members had to climb the latter the finally stand at the top. 25 feet in the air. This one was ok. I had allot of help from the people with me but I did swear allot…. I didn’t mean to but I can’t help my mouth when I’m scared. The next challenge was the leap of faith. You climb up a 30 foot telephone pole, stand at the top then leap off to try and hit a ball set away from the pole. This one was a bit more false. I’m not so keen on free fall stuff. So yeah. It took me a while to get on top of the pole and then convince myself to jump. I screamed… Again… And there were swears. But again this one was ok…. More not then yes but still ok. The last challenge was the giant swing. You get strapped in, pulled up 30 feet and then you have to pull the cable that releases you. Now I thought I could like this one. My favorite ride at the amusement park is the pirate/dragon ship thing… The giant swing. However this swing…. This was a nay nay swing….. I know swings, normal swings go weeeeee weeeeeee. This swing you go… “Pull…auuahagahaghaagahgaahagg” not ok. I dropped and fell and swung. Nope I didn’t like it! But I didn’t. Feel the fear and do it anyway!!

It has been a great couple of days.

Talk to you all soon, love u all, peace.

One thought on “Fun times

  1. cathi seraph

    Sounds like you are doing a great job conquering your fears my friend. You are far braver than I………I would start with the swear words, then curse, then cuss and still not budge!!!! Sounds like a great time, to teach you who you are and what you are made of!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

